Beach, beach beach, I love beach…

21 Dec

Sam likes to surf and by likes, I mean loves.

(His wetsuit rather makes him look like Batman in this picture, hee hee. )

Sam is able to decode the blatherings on various reports and figure out which days are going to be great for an early morning surf.  On those mornings we wake up around 4:30 a.m. and head out to Lido Beach (which I much prefer over dirty Rockaway) where Sam surfs and I enjoy a peaceful morning on the beach, watching the sunrise and observing the locals interact.

Yikes!

We both love these mornings but Sam enjoys them so much that he has asked me repeatedly to immortalize them by painting/drawing/sketching a picture of the beach for him.  He sent me several pictures of beach scenes that he hoped I would replicate for him but I held out.  There is something about drawing beach scenes that has always turned me off and up until recently I wouldn’t give in to this project.  Then one afternoon  I took this picture:

And from that, adapted this:

Different from the original I know but the idea is there.  The finished copy now hangs in Sam’s room, in a frame on a brand new shelf.  Success!

*Sidenote:  Surf season is over for now but we will be back out this summer when I will execute my plan of administering post-surf massages by a non-certified masseuse (me), 5 dollars for 5 minutes.  Can’t wait!

2 Responses to “Beach, beach beach, I love beach…”

  1. Sam December 22, 2009 at 3:14 am #

    Surfline is the most reliable, most of the time but don’t forget these reliable surf forecasting sites:
    http://magicseaweed.com/Lido-Beach-Surf-Report/382/
    http://www.snapwater.com/

    And of course good ‘ol surfer jims surfcam whose technology has not been upgraded since what seems like the late 90s — at least since 2004 when I started checking it out. An oldie but goodie:
    http://www.surferjims.com/surfcam.htm

  2. Sam December 22, 2009 at 3:15 am #

    i’m tired… reliable reliable most reliable

Leave a Reply

