Doodling

22 Dec

I used to be an art teacher and one of my favorite projects was a simple one:  Sit down, turn on the classical piano and doodle to your hearts content.   I brought in my notebooks and showed the fifth grade students page after page of intricate cross-hatching, bubbles, stars, pinwheels and encouraged them to come up with their own ideas.  “No number or letters,” I told them.  And “NO TALKING.  You should just let yourself focus on what you are doing.”

A group of 33 eleven-year olds can be a tough sell.  But they loved it of course and were very proud of their finished products.  One of their mother’s told me later that her son skipped watching tv after dinner so he could keep working on his doodle.

And on that note, here is MY favorite doodle:

**Another website to check out is for artist Scott Wilson who has taken the concept of drawing on napkins (how many doodles start) to another level.  The end result is something you should see for yourself.

3 Responses to “Doodling”

  1. submeg October 30, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    I just did some doodling, that picture gave me some more ideas! I like it!

    Submeg

    Check out my doodle…(http://submeg.wordpress.com/2010/10/31/art-project-doodles/)

    • pattycakesmix October 31, 2010 at 12:29 am #

      That’s great! I’ve been doing the same doodles since middle school. The nest way to expand on them is to listen to classical music, piano if you can.

  2. Christoffer February 9, 2015 at 4:47 am #

    Is there any copyright on this picture?
    I would really like to use it, for a design idea.

Leave a Reply

