My new table – Before, After and in Between…

9 Feb

Sams’ brother gave me this table a  few weeks ago:

The table was good in two ways:

1  – I needed a table to put my television on.

2  – It was free.

If you think I exaggerate what this table was, look closer:

So I lived with it for a few weeks until yesterday when I cracked, bought a scraper, pulled out my sander, white paint, and specially purchased paper from Dick Blick for just such a project.  I began by scraping the silly stickers off the top and sanded it down to a nice, smooth wood.

Ahhhh, better already!

I finished the project by painting the tabletop a matte white and used multi-purpose adhesive spray to add a special touch.

(Hint:  an exacto knife helped me get the edges of the paper perfect.)

Voila!  The finished product.

I love it!

**A special thanks to The Rolling Stones, Paul Simon, Carly Simon and 105.9 WQXR Classical Music station for accompanying me while I worked.**

2 Responses to “My new table – Before, After and in Between…”

  1. Carola February 11, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    Wow!!! I am so impressed and jealous that you have time to do this!

  2. Rosario February 12, 2010 at 5:16 am #

    Patty your “NEW” table looks BEAUTIFUL, you realu did a great job!!!

Leave a Reply

