Inspiration Overload

20 Feb

Every now and then I step my sneaker-clad foot into a life that I don’t really live.  This phenomenon happens about once a year when Fashion Week rolls into town.  This year I had an official, sealed in an envelope invitation to the Max Azria for Herve Leger show, thanks to a friend of mine who is a friend of Max’s.  Not an invitation that is to be turned down, no matter how little sleep you got the night before (thank you Atlantic City) .  So on Valentines Day I  donned my high heels and hopped into a cab to get to Bryant Park.

Once inside the lights go down, the music starts and the first dress to strut down the runway is covered in: studs.

Studs are obviously what have been missing in my life all this time.  Where can I find my own, I thought as dress after dress paraded out, studded to perfection.  How can I – I know!  Maybe I can get some individual studs and put them on my clothes!  Maybe a couple on my sneakers to make them less boring.  Or I can put some on a jacket collar to make it more fun, I mean I obviously can’t cover an entire jacket in them that would just be weird.  Maybe I can put them on little strips of fabric to make bracelets – oh, on strips of leather!  Yes, that would look great but where can I – oh I know! I can use the straps of all those old purses I never touch anymore….

Later that night I attended another show.  This one was back in Brooklyn at Glasslands.  At this show, anyone could get in if you just paid the 7 dollar cover, no fancy sealed envelope necessary.

The band was good but what I really took notice of was the great background created for the stage.  A pretty sky blue wall that had what looked to be white paper, origami-esque flowers stuck to the top to form an organic, cloud like structure.  If you look close here…

I mean, how neat does that look!  I can do the same thing in my room.  Of course my walls are a mint green but it would look really pretty if I took white paper and made those flowers we learned how to make in elementary school and attach them to the wall in a similar design.  All in white that would look nice.  Oh, I bet I could even take my leftover white paint and paint some branch-like pictures on the walls.  Or a tree, a big white tree, like the ones I learned to draw in my landscape design classes.  Will it look weird?   I don’t care, I’m doing it.  I can start on it in the morning when I wake up.  Oh but I also have to finish that scarf I started, that’s been on my mind too.  And I keep meaning to spray paint those jars on my shelf with that white paint, maybe I can do that tomorrow as well.  And I must remember to charge my camera so I can keep taking pictures and I really really don’t want to forget my studs idea.  And am I ever going to get around to painting the rest of the apartment???

I can’t take it.  I’m going to bed.

2 Responses to “Inspiration Overload”

  1. Carola February 20, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    Maybe you need a little blog notebook to keep up with all these ideas..I think the room would look fabulous.

  2. Crystal February 20, 2010 at 6:18 am #

    Maybe perhaps you can put studs on the flowers that make up the sky. I mean the possibilities are endless. When you think about it…..what can’t you put studs on? But will that make you a stud?

Leave a Reply

