A Thank You note to Mom and Dad

24 Sep

Dear Mom and Dad,

Hi guys!  It actually  hasn’t been that long since I’ve talked to you for a change, I spoke to both of you this week and suspect I will talk to you again today.  I’ve been thinking about today, my birthday for the last few weeks and thinking about how all of a sudden, boom!  I’m 33 years old.  Holy shit!  Sorry, I can’t help myself. I remember my 13th birthday party when I invited the 8th grade girls over for a sleepover.  Dad, you came by for a little while to see me on my birthday, remember being surrounded by 12 year old girls?  Mom, you let us watch Pretty Woman on the VCR and Sleeping with the Enemy. We sure loved us some Julia Roberts!

But this year I’m just so overwhelemed with gratitutde in a way I haven’t felt before on any other birthday or any other time in my life, really.  I don’t know exactly what it is or what’s changed but I want to make sure that you both know how absolutely lucky I feel because of you two.  Because I knew that you were always there.  Even when I didn’t call for several weeks (ahem) I always felt okay just knowing that if things got really hard I could call you, you were there for me.  You guys are so nice.  And smart!  Boy are you two smart.  And funny when I least expect it.  Both of you can crack me up!

So Thank you Mom and Dad.  Thank you for deciding to have me when you knew the risk.  Thank you for picking me up from school, taking me to friends houses, letting me have cats (haha), teaching me how to draw, teaching me how to cross-stitch, showing me how to properly fold my underwear (mom!), teaching me how important it was to be kind to others, teaching me how important it was to love others.  Thank you for just rolling with the decisions I’ve made in my life without too much resistance (yes dad, I still live in the same house, very funny).  Thank you for giving me lots of hugs and kisses and I love you’s throughout the course of my life.  And thank you for always saying, “I just want my kids to be happy.”  Thank you for the love!!!

Your Daughter,

Patricia Roxana

3 Responses to “A Thank You note to Mom and Dad”

  1. Debby September 24, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Happy tears and happy birthday from the other side of ‘town’.

  2. Rosario September 24, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    Patty, I LOVE YOU VERY MUCH, you are a wonderful lady, I thank God for giving me such a GREAT DOUGHTER.

    “HAPPY BIRTHDAY”

  3. mrs king September 24, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    You are such a gracious daugter. May you have a happy birthday filled with new memories to cherish along with the old ones.

Leave a Reply

