All hail the Juice!

28 Jan

I love juicing, I truly do. It’s like drinking a salad which sounds much more appealing after you down some fresh juice.  I took the advice of Kris Carr at Crazy Sexy Life and bought my Breville Compact Juice Fountain over the summer of 2011.  Needless to say, I haven’t looked back. I’ve juiced carrots, beets, lettuce, cilantro, broccoli (of which many scraps landed in my hair), cucumbers, Romaine lettuce heads, apples, lemons, ginger root, celery.  And there’s more to come.

Here is my most recent, favorite recipe from Jenny Sansouci at Healthy Crush. A tad spicy, known more as being a “savory” juice than a sweet one.

Cilantro Juice Recipe
makes about 16-20 oz juice, depending on juicer & produce size

  • 2 large cucumbers
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 1 lime
  • 1 cup coconut water (mix in after juicing the rest of the stuff).

If you are not sold, put the juice in a fun glass to take the edge off.

I realize this puts me in this category. But I can live with that 🙂

One thing to note.  I know everyone hears the same thing when it comes to juicing. “Oh, i love it, it gives me so much energy, I love the taste!,” etc, etc. But let me say this from experience – it’s true.  I remember one day in particular when I juiced a couple of beets, carrots and apples before work. I drank the concoction and half an hour later, it was as if I had drank a cup of coffee.  In a good way. Not in a “climb the walls with nervous energy” way that I dislike about coffee.

I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

